Healthy, Natural Living

Pot o’ Chicken Soup

I decided to make some chicken soup for dinner tonight. I don’t have a go to recipe. I just get started and I am not sure how it is going to ‘pan’ out until it is finished. I have not always been able to cook on a whim and I am still not that great of an impromptu cook, but I have come a long way. I grabbed some chicken legs and a quart of broth. Threw that into a crockpot with some bay leaf, garlic, salt, and pepper. The legs were still frozen so, I turned it on high. There, dinner was started. Time to start school. About three hours later, I noticed it was boiling. I turned it down to low. After about 6 hours, I took the legs out to cool. I don’t like burning my fingers while removing the meat from the bones. I now need a plan…Oh! I have that cabbage that needs to get used up. Now, my crockpot isn’t big enough. I dumped the broth into my soup pot and removed the bay leaf. Sliced up and added the cabbage along with carrots to the pot, discovered I was going to need another quart of broth. I grabbed another quart out of the freezer. Sliced up the chicken meat put that into the pot, time to simmer. Once the broth was heated through and the cabbage was cooked, time to taste. I then added my herbs and salt and pepper. Simmered about 1/2 hour until carrots were done. Delicious! This just may become my go to…no, I don’t always buy cabbage.

Chicken Soup
6 chicken legs
2 quarts chicken broth
2 bay leaves
4-5 cloves garlic, chopped
salt & pepper
4 cups cabbage, sliced
2 carrots, sliced
1/4 teas thyme
1/4 teas tarragon
salt & pepper

20140307-223533.jpg
Don’t forget to save the ends of your carrots and the chicken leg bones. Put them into separate gallon sized freezer bags and keep them in the freezer until it is time to make broth.

Leave a Reply

