Healthy, Natural Living

The main reason I have decided to start this blog, is to share what I have learned over the last 10 years. Before I had children or was even certain we would ever have children, my mind took “a left at Albuquerque,” as Bugs Bunny said. I met a woman who soon became one of my dearest friends.  She is a chiropractor and she has a way of thinking, that is very natural to me.  Now, she will say, ‘she created a monster.’

I remember the day well, we were walking down by the Blue Water Bridge on a sunny afternoon.  We were just having simple conversation and she said, “when I have a baby, I am going to have the baby at home.” I now know that my reaction was a very unusual one, because when I say that I had my babies at home I don’t get that reaction. A light bulb went off inside of me…ding! Oh, my! I thought that is a beautiful idea! Later that week, I was flipping through T.V. channels and stopped at a show about babies being born.  At that point in my life, I had never watched before and I have to say, I have never watched again.  But, that night, they had 3 births, one at home, one at a birth center, and one at a hospital. Oh, the peace, joy, and comfort I felt watching the home birth versus the bright, loud, chaos I felt watching the hospital birth was a life changing moment for me. I decided at that moment, if we were ever to have children, they would be born at home. That seeming simple conversation opened my mind to a whole new world and a whole new thought process.  It also, had me questioning the medical community. If doctors could not trust the God given ability for a woman to give birth and have convinced so many that they were needed to successfully birth a child, what else did I falsely believe?

“Shall I bring to the birth, and not cause to bring forth? saith the Lord: shall I cause to bring forth, and shut the womb? saith thy God.” Isaiah 66:9

That led me to the issue of vaccinations. Are they really safe? Regardless, if they work, are they really worth the risk?  As I look at the health of  our country I am not convinced the risk outweighs the benefit.  I have put together a quick resource for myself to reflect.  I quickly came to the decision that conventional medicine is not working and not for our family.  In January 2013 the Institute of Medicine released their findings, which just saddens me.
There is Hope! Through prayer,  guidance, mentorship, a lot of research and study, I am most confident that God gave us everything we need. Including the choice to have life and have it abundantly~John 10:10. He tells us, “I call heaven and earth to witness this day against you that I have set before you life and death, the blessings and the curses; therefore choose life, that you and your descendants may live” Deut 30:19.
My focus is to build my children’s immune systems through nutrition. In future post, I plan to explain specific foods we incorporate into our diet to boost the immune system.  When we do get ill, I allow the body to fight the good fight and  beat that illness! I also supplement to support the immune system during the battle.  I will talk about these, too.  The Power that made the body heals the body!
Comments on: "Why I am becoming a ‘Blogger?’" (2)

  1. Katie M said:

    I’m here! I’m reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

